The Des Moines Area Sports Commission (DMASC), an organization under the Greater
Des Moines Convention and Visitors Bureau (GDMCVB) umbrella, has announced the nominees for the first Central Iowa Sports Awards. The awards recognize those who have pursued athletic excellence with honor in 2009. Activities must have occurred within a 75-mile radius of home plate at Principal Park and occurred during the 2009 calendar year.

Online voting of nominees is taking place now through February 4, 2010. The award winners will be named on February 21, 2010. More information and complete official rules are available at

Central Iowa Sports Awards Nominees in:

High School
  • Female Athlete of the Year
    • Amanda Zimmerman: Ballard of Huxley Basketball
    • Jordan Gronewold: Carlisle Basketball
    • Katie Flood: Nike Cross Country National Champion
    • Miranda Leek: Youth World Archery Championships
    • Sammy Snygg: North Polk Softball
  • Male Athlete of the Year
    • Chanse Creekmur: Marshalltown Football
    • Charlie Caris: Roosevelt Tennis
    • Harrison Barnes: Ames Basketball
    • John Meeks: Roosevelt Wrestling
    • Louis Dalany Wickett: Madrid Football
    • Matthew Phillip Dermody: Norwalk, Four-Sport Athlete
  • Play of the Year
    • Chanse Creekmur to Jared Carlson: Marshalltown, Defeats Dowling in Football State Semifinals
    • Harrison Barnes: Ames, Dunk in State Championship
    • Morgan Hoeg walk off homerun: Waukee, Defeats Valley in Softball State Semifinals
  • Game of the Year
    • Ames versus Linn Mar: Boys Basketball State 4A Championship
    • Ames versus Linn Mar: Girls Basketball 4A Semifinals
    • Earlham Softball versus Newell-Fonda: 1A State Softball
    • Marshalltown versus Dowling: 4A State Football Semifinals
    • Waukee versus Valley: State Softball Semifinals
  • Team of the Year
    • Ames: Boys Basketball
    • Ankeny: Volleyball
    • Ballard of Huxley: Girls Basketball
    • Ballard of Huxley: Wrestling
    • Dowling Catholic: Cross Country
    • Earlham: Softball
    • Johnston: Softball
    • Marshalltown: Football
    • Norwalk: Baseball
    • Roosevelt: Boys Tennis
    • Roosevelt: Wrestling
    • Southern Cal: Football
    • Waukee: Track & Field
  • Female Athlete of the Year
    • Allison Lacey: Iowa State Basketball, Elite 8
    • Kaylee Manns: Iowa State Volleyball, Sweet 16, NCAA All-American
    • Lisa Koll: Iowa State Cross Country and Track & Field
  • Male Athlete of the Year
    • Craig Brackins: Iowa State Basketball
    • Garrett Webb: Drake Soccer, NCAA All-American
    • Jake Varner: Iowa State Wrestling, NCAA Champion
    • Titus Bland: Grand View University Football, 1st Team NAIA All-American
  • Play of the Year
    • Jesse Smith’s Interception: Iowa State Football
    • Luke Gorzyca’s Shot: Drake Soccer
  • Game of the Year
    • Drake versus Boston College: Soccer
    • Iowa State versus Michigan State: Women’s Basketball
    • Iowa State versus Nebraska: Football
    • Iowa State versus Nebraska: Volleyball
  • Team of the Year
    • Central College: Football
    • Drake: Men’s Soccer
    • Iowa State: Volleyball
    • Iowa State: Women’s Basketball
  • Athlete of the Year
    • Brett Moffitt: NASCAR (17-year-old Johnston student)
    • Justin Hartwig: Pittsburgh Steelers
    • Michael Annett: NASCAR
    • Terry McCarl: Knoxville Nationals
    • Zach Johnson: PGA
  • Event of the Year
    • Dam to Dam: Iowa’s Distance Classic
    • First Nationwide NASCAR Race at Iowa Speedway
    • Hy-Vee Triathlon
    • Knoxville Nationals
    • Principal Charity Classic
Lifetime Achievement
  • Coach Tom Davis: University of Iowa, Drake University
  • Deb Stetson: Roosevelt Tennis
  • Jim Williams: Dowling Football
  • Randy Hinkel: Madrid Football

The Central Iowa Sports Awards’ Honor Committee is made up of: Des Moines Area Sports Commission Vice President of Sports and Development Al Lorenzen, The Des Moines Register Sports Editor Bryce Miller, ABC5 Sports Director John Walters, KCCI NewsChannel 8 Sports Director Andy Garman, WHO-TV Channel 13 Sports Director Keith Murphy, 1460 KXNO’s Ken Miller and Iowa Sports Connection’s Mike Rickord.