< Back To Previous Page

Masterworks 4: Cathedrals of Sound

  • Des Moines Civic Center
  • Address: 221 Walnut Street, Des Moines, IA 50309
  • January 28, 2017 - January 29, 2017
  • Sat 7:30 - 10 p.m.; Sun 2:30 - 5 p.m.
  • Price: $15 - $65; Students $7.50 - $32.50

BRAHMS  Academic Festival Overture
William BOLCOM  Concerto Grosso for Saxophone Quartet
BRUCKNER  Symphony No. 4 “Romantic”

JoAnn Falletta, guest conducting
Oasis Quartet

Acclaimed by the New York Times as “one of the finest conductors of her generation,” JoAnn Falletta is a much-sought guest conductor and a vibrant presence on the podium. At the invitation of Joseph Giunta, she leads the Symphony in a soaring symphonic showcase. This energetic concert opens with Brahms’s lively Academic Festival Overture. Next, the virtuosic Oasis Quartet plays Bolcom’s Concerto Grosso, a masterpiece for four saxophones and orchestra. Finally, Bruckner’s monumental Fourth Symphony, his “cathedral of sound,” will take your breath away with its blazing power and majesty.

Tickets: Single tickets are $15-$65 and are available through Ticketmaster (up until two hours prior to performances) and the Civic Center Ticket Office (221 Walnut Street, Des Moines; open 9a-5p Monday through Friday and two hours prior to performances).

Student tickets are $7.50-$32.50 and are available through the Civic Center Ticket Office.

Student rush tickets, subject to availability, are $5 for junior high and high school students and $10 for all other students the day of the concert through the Civic Center Ticket Office.

Masterworks 4: Cathedrals of Sound