< Back To Previous Page

Invitation to Dance/Masterworks Series

  • Des Moines Symphony
  • Address: The Temple For Performing Arts, Des Moines, IA 50309
  • September 23, 2017 - September 24, 2017
  • Saturday 7:30 pm; Sunday 2:30 pm
  • Price: Single tix: $15 - $65; Students: $7.50 - $32.50

WEBER  Invitation to the Dance - BRUCH  Violin Concerto No. 1 in G Minor RACHMANINOFF  Symphonic Dances

Joseph Giunta, conducting
Jennifer Frautschi, violin

Joseph Giunta & the Des Moines Symphony open our 80th Season, ‘Music in Motion,’ with Weber’s graceful, vivacious Invitation to the Dance. Two-time GRAMMY nominee Jennifer Frautschi makes her triumphant return to Des Moines for a richly textured performance of Bruch’s beloved First Violin Concerto. Rachmaninoff’s final work, the brilliantly scored Symphonic Dances, ends our Season Debut in a blaze of whirling, lavish melodies.

Tickets: Single tickets are $15-$65 & will be available through Des Moines Performing Arts in late Summer 2017. Please note single ticket prices are subject to a $5 increase on the day of the concert, excluding student rush tickets.

Student tickets are $7.50-$32.50 and are available through the Civic Center Ticket Office. Student rush tickets, subject to availability, are $5 for junior high and high school students and $10 for all other students the day of the concert through the Civic Center Ticket Office. One ticket sold per valid Student ID.

The duration of these concerts is approximately two hours and ten minutes, which includes a 20-minute intermission.

LEARN MORE: Concert Prelude Talks begin 45 minutes prior to each Masterworks concert in the Stoner Theater.

Invitation to Dance/Masterworks Series